Queries, Pitches and YouTube – Oh My !

Hello Everyone,

This post is sudden, but one I’ve been waiting to write for a little over two months now. With a new year comes new projects, particularly in the writing department. For those of you who don’t know, my brother (Ismael) and his wife (Justine) are writers. You can find them here and here.  These are the two people I bounce most of my ideas off of as well as scream at when my characters give me feelings.

I realize how weird that last sentence sounds if you’re not a writer. Getting involved with books and fandoms makes you do a lot of odd things in order to hold tight/express inspiration. I’ll save that for another post.inkwell2_5

What I want to tell you all is that my brother, his wife, and I have created The Inkwell Council.

-insert the oooooooh gif from Toy Story here-

The purpose of this website is to provide free critiques for a description of your entire project and the first three chapters of your manuscript. When it comes to querying, we know the first three chapters can make or break the decision as to whether a publisher/agent will request more of your story. We know how stressful and hard this process can be. Lastly, we also know that getting critiques for your story can be expensive. The idea for this service sprouted as we asked ourselves: what can we do to help out the writing community  with NaNoWriMo underway and a various amount of pitching events happening on Twitter? This, my writing friends, is the answer.

We will be reading each submission with the following in mind:

1) What might get you accepted or rejected by an agent/publisher and how you might increase your chances.

2) How to strengthen your prose and tighten your story, without losing your voice and what makes your tale unique.

3) The pace and feeling of your story – is it a page turner? Does it drag? Are our hearts already racing? Did we get your jokes?

Each of us involved with Inkwell will be assigned to one of the following questions. To find out more about Inkwell, whether for curiosity, to learn more about us, or to submit your manuscript (which we really hope you do), check out our website. Note that we will be picking one manuscript out of the bunch per month to critique, but this may change as Inkwell progresses. The best way to stay in the know is to visit The Inkwell Council.

Phew, one announcement done, one to go. Another project that has been kept secret is the same folks who made The Inkwell Council are also making a YouTube Channel! I will say that I have wanted to make a YouTube channel for a while, but never felt like I would be able to maintain it. Then one day, my sister in law mentioned that she was thinking of doing it because of her son and here we are.

I present to you Geektastic!

There are no videos as of yet, but they will be themed around all things nerdy and geeky as my family has both of those traits running in their veins. We will be doing reviews of books, movies, toys, and anything else we deem fit. The best part about this channel is it will be family friendly, so there will be no need to slam your laptop shut if a child comes running in. Also, you will be meeting my nephew who is adorable and full of all the energy in the world.

I will be covering the book section of the channel because I read books at the speed of light and my shelf is becoming overrun with them. Might as well put my love for books to use and hopefully entertain some readers in the process. I hope you stay tuned and check out the videos as they come.

Okay, I think that is everything I had to announce in this post. Not saying anything for so long has kept me bubbling with excitement and hope that they will turn out well. With no more secrets, (as far as I know), I’ll see you all in my next post.

Xx

Megan

 

Leave a Reply

