A Little Sprinkle of Horror

“What is one thing Megan cannot do?”

If you ask my family and friends, they will reply with, “Watch horror movies.” With Halloween creeping around the corner, I know many readers will gasp in disbelief at this, but I must admit the truth. I can watch movies with gore in it, depressing and dark features, but present me with jump-scares or the supernatural and I am calling it quits. My adult self has not bit the bullet and faced my fear because it would probably end with me hiding in my room for weeks on end.

The irony of this all is my short story that has been released today by Fantastia Divinity Magazine is in fact a horror story.

DUN! DUN! DUN!

There are no ghosts or demons, but I did write this with an eerie feel in mind. The story was inspired by one of my best friends while we were doing a little exploring at a field near our homes. The entire area was and still is being built up and remade for guests: a circus for families, gardens that can be rented out for anyone wanting to take up a hobby, even an ice skating rink. The construction workers have not made their way through the entire field just yet so there are still buildings that require serious redoing, including abandoned air hangers.

Seeing them up close was creepy. Having my best friend and I spout ideas about a story taking place in them was even creepier. However, that night I came home and the story wrote itself. There was a brief intermission I took on the piece to work out some last minute details as well as write other things, but last year it was finished, edited, and shipped out.

It was odd for me, who dabbles in endless Fantasy and Sci-Fiction, to take on a different genre. I never expected it to happen, but I will not protest my muse when it wishes to get something done. I think a large appeal behind writing the story was having the ability to take a place from my life and tweak it with my imagination. I didn’t have to make up a setting. It was already available for me to play with. The rest of the details filled themselves in.

If you’re interested in checking out the story, which is called Unreturned, it can be found here. A kindle version will be uploaded within a few days which I’ll be sure to place here too. For a spookier experience, I’ve attached a picture of the actual air hangar. Happy reading.

20160821_171008.jpg

Xx

Megan

Leave a Reply

