YA For Everyone- Introduction

Attention bloggers, readers, and writers! If you are a fan of YA literature, these upcoming posts are going to be for you.

I’ve decided to begin a series on the Young Adult genre which will shuffle through a variety of topics such as tropes, issues, and benefits of young adult literature. I am hoping to include guest posts along this journey so if you are interested, don’t be shy to send me a message on any of my social media platforms.

The idea for this feature on my blog came during a car ride to the countryside where I had amazing Fall weather and an endless amount of trees surrounding me. It is no surprise to anyone that I love books, but I also enjoy another aspect of the book world: recommendations. Being able to give someone a book to read and watch as they devour it leaves me feeling quite satisfied. I like to think you learn a lot about someone through the books they read and favor. What I realized after this was most of the books I recommend are Young Adult. Why you ask? Well, it is about ninety five percent of what I read and am familiar with myself.

Another influence behind the start of this idea was a post I published last year on the love triangle trope that occurs in YA. It was one of my favorite blog posts to date and I found myself wondering why I hadn’t written more posts like it. These two threads of inspiration were tied together and I found myself coming home from my trip to begin this introductory post.

ya131007_by_numbers_1_560

The Five: The Young-Adult Bubble (NY Times)

One of the main facts to know about YA literature is it has grown in readership within the last four years. There was a particularly sharp increase (22.4% to be exact) in book sales from 2013 – 2014. If we take a glance at the entertainment industry, we find that a lot of YA books are being made into television shows and movies. A few examples include: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, Divergent by Veronica Roth, and a soon to be released production, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. These books and films aren’t being viewed by young adults and children. There are adult viewers too, all thanks to an expansion of mature themes that are gracing the young adult market. The changes in the genre and the representation of them through varied styles and characters are the big hook. No longer are there merely adult books to represent particular themes, but they are trickling downward into YA. This has caused the field to gain speed, solidarity, and presence in today’s publishing market.

Though these are overviewing figures, they are important to consider as we move forward in my blog series. There will be posts about what works for YA, what makes the voice of the genre powerful, why it would appeal to an older audience, even book recommendations and what they can offer a potential reader. All credit for photos and facts have been linked if you are keen on diving further into this powerful literary genre.

Stay tuned for part two where I plan to explore what I’ve found through reading YA.

Xx

Megan

3 thoughts on “YA For Everyone- Introduction

  1. I’ve only read a few YA books, but I’m strangely intrigued by articles about YA. Maybe it’s because of my lack of familiarity, my interest in learning about things I don’t know. But I think it’s also because YA authors are always SO PASSIONATE about YA. Though I don’t often gravitate towards YA books, I do gravitate towards passionate people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of the books I read are YA. I have been branching out to adult books (slowly), but I find that YA has more elements within in that I appreciate, both stylistically and in terms of plot. However, it is really awesome that you are willing to read articles on YA. I really think it’s a great genre and I do agree that many YA authors hold so much passion which makes reading those kinds of books all the more exciting. I’m going to be doing a whole series on this so be sure to stop by and if you ever need some YA recommendations, my book shelf is overflowing 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

