Camp NaNoWriMo

Hello fellow writers,

It’s been a while since I’ve last updated, but I have the pleasure of saying I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this year. For those who don’t know what this is, it stands for National Novel Writing Month. Every November, from the beginning of the month to the end, a challenge is set for authors to write a full length novel (50,000 words +). Due to school and other life related events, I’ve never participated. However, I have partaken in Camp NaNoWriMo which allows the writer to set a word count for themselves. I didn’t succeed last year, but I feel more confident this year with having a set plan of where I want my story to go. The goal I’ve set for myself is 25,000 words.

tumblr_inline_mj7qb7lyjy1qz4rgp

I’ve been writing almost daily, on bus rides to school, late at night. The words have been adding up without warning which I’m happy about when it comes to reaching my goal. As opposed to roaming around for where I want to lead the story, it has been guiding me. It’s taken me through dual perspectives, flashbacks, and throwing my characters into the middle of conflict.

What I am curious about writers participating, or even writers who can’t participate but want to – how are you reaching for your goal? For me, I have been trying to write each and everyday. I haven’t tried to force my muse. I’ve allowed the words to flow on the page as they are, minus editing here and there. My chapters aren’t very long, but I feel as if chapters aren’t about length, rather the content and what it does in relation to the overall plot. I’ve left my book open to create itself and I feel like the freedom is really helping me write it.

I am determined to keep to a schedule and get to my 25,000 words, despite school, work and other engagements of mine. I feel as if committing to NaNoWriMo is partly mindset, sticking to what is set by you as a writer. For those who are participating, I wish you loads of luck. Let your imagination run wild and create the story stuck in your mind.

Leave your thoughts/tips/goals below!

Xx Megan

Leave a Reply

