Resolutions for 2016

Before I begin this post, I’d like to say HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! We’ve made it to another year and I hope it will be a good one. 2015 ended on a high for me between positive holiday celebrations as well as a three day get away. Though it is six days into the New Year, I still have a bit of a vacation mindset. Oops.

I will come back to reality in order to write my resolutions, mostly writing and reading based, for 2016.

  1. Read As Many Books As Possible
    Reading is both escape and inspiration. The more I read, the more ideas I tend to have. I’ve already finished my first book of the New Year and plan on starting the second book I have on my shelf today. I don’t want to set a number of books to read for I feel like it’ll put pressure on reading and the last thing I would want to do is feel like I have to rush something I love. I commute to and from school as well as work which is prime reading time. I finish books within a few days, shocking both my friends and family. I want to keep up this trend, picking up whichever books I can get my hands on. So many books, so little time.
  2. Get A Short Story Published
    I’ve been setting this goal every year since 2013 and I’ve been fortunate to accomplish it each time around, last year being a record of two short stories receiving a home. I’m not going to shoot for higher because of a successful year. I’m going to shoot for my goal of one and hope I’m able to accomplish that. I have a young adult story I want to get picked up for I feel it’s one of my best works. Though the publishing industry doesn’t always work that way. I got stories published which I didn’t expect would be picked up. It’s kind of like throwing a dart at a board when you’re blindfolded and forced to jump on one leg. You never know if it’ll be a hit or miss.
  3. Write More Short Stories
    I’ve been in the muse gutter since the end of last year. I have ideas and drafted stories I want to continue, but my brain has resolved to screaming no at the top of its lungs and then pout in the corner . I’m thinking the vacation I have from school will loosen up these tightly bound thoughts. The likelier option however: thoughts coming to life at five in the morning with no choice other than to sacrifice sleep and write. It’s happened to me several times before.
  4. Spend Time With Friends and Family
    I’ve realized over the past year how much my family and friends meant to me. I want to keep these bonds as strong as possible. I spent a lot of time with them last year, including impromptu trips to houses and late night talks. I realized how much I enjoyed this and I would like to keep the trend going. The same goes for my friends. I have a small knit group and this was one of the years we all hung together and it went seamlessly. I want more of those laugh out loud crazy days.
  5.  Be More Active On Social Media
    A large part of writing is networking which is weird considering writing is often a private and solitary action until it goes to an editor. I think I had a successful year on twitter, which I would like to continue. I would perhaps like to increase my author posts and my blog posts, even invite a few more guests to leave their mark behind. I say this before life gets crazy and school starts up again, but I’m going to be optimistic. Whenever I have an idea, or see something worth posting, I’ll do it. The more engagement I have with my followers, the better it will be for me and my future writing goals.

I think those are my main goals for 2016. Feel free to tell me yours in the comments.

Until next time,

xx Megan

2 thoughts on “Resolutions for 2016

  1. Great resolutions! Your first two are the same as mine. I’ve been trying to get a short story published since last spring and it is definitely a lot like throwing darts and just hoping you’ll hit something. Congrats on getting two of yours published! That’s fantastic. Best of luck to you with all your resolutions this year. They are great goals to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much. I wish you good luck as well getting a short story published. Maybe 2016 will be a better year. There are tons of magazines out there. It’s just about finding the right one 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

