Winding Down

Hello Fellow Bloggers,

It has been a little while since I’ve posted. FantasyCon and my lovely guest authors have shone in the spotlight for the past month. With such in depth and engaging posts, it was an honor to have them on my blog.

Moving past that however, I can’t believe 2015 is almost over. I feel as if everyone is surprised by how fast a year passes, especially when it feels like it just began. I can say for me, this year has been a good one, positive for my personal relationships and my writing career.

I am thankful for gaining experience in the publishing industry with both an internship at Distinguished Press as well as employment at Fantasy Works Publishing.

I am thankful for my two short stories which got picked up this year. My goal is to publish one per year and the fact I got two was more than I could ask for. I still recall screaming in the middle of a hallway when getting an email from Maudlin House. It took a few minutes for me to calm down and say a sentence in a language that was comprehensible.

I am thankful for my family and friends. I feel like I’ve gotten closer to a lot of them this year. 2015 guided us through some grown up decisions and adventures and I am happy to have been given the opportunities. It’s reassuring to know I let go of the wrong people and kept the right ones at my side.

I am thankful for being able to travel to Montreal this summer. It was an eye opening and beautiful trip. There were quite a few mishaps in the preparations, a lost passport and a flat tire just two days before we were going to leave. We managed to find solutions to these problems and go to Canada. I have over six hundred pictures to prove it.

I am thankful for the success of my brother and sister in law who are having their books published. Hopefully, I’ll be able to join them one day if my brain would get itself together and pour my ideas onto a page. Muse is one of the most stubborn things for a writer.

I am thankful for being close to graduating. I have one semester left and I look forward to what comes after. It’s terrifying, yes, but I think I’ll be okay. I want to explore what is outside of the classroom and I’m happy my hard work has paid off. The finish line is closer than it was four years ago, not to mention less daunting.

Lastly, I am grateful for my health and being able to say I am nearing the end of 2015. Since we are all moving towards the end of 2015 together, I ask you my fellow readers and writers, what have been some highlights of your year? Leave them in the comments.

Xx,

Megan

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

