Jumping Back Through the Pages

11880391_10207478694905949_3254375076273430863_n

A beautiful town I was lucky to visit.

Last week, I went on vacation and in that span of time, I didn’t have a chance to read. The vacation had everything I needed: laughter, relaxation, exploration, etc. However, when I returned, I felt an odd numbness in my chest, something in between nostalgia and loneliness.

This feeling struck me as odd considering I had gone on a trip with two of the closest people in my life. We had a lot of fun. There were more memories made than I thought possible. I told myself that perhaps I was longing to be back on vacation. A part of me was, but that wasn’t the biggest problem.

I hadn’t read a book in about two weeks. Yes, me the mighty bookworm that I am. Yes, me the person who swallows books in a day or two like they’re the only food I’ll have that week.

Today, I finally picked up a book and read about one third of it on the commute to work alone. The horrible feeling I had in my chest eased drastically. The sudden relief made me remember that if I don’t read, I go into a state of mind that is much more antsy and fragile than usual. I’ve noticed it happens during the school year as well. If I don’t manage to slip in a personal read alongside the workload that I receive, everything I have to do seems that much harder.

Being on vacation, I didn’t need a book as much as I needed it while being immersed in my daily activities. I didn’t crave an escape from reality that books provide for me, where suddenly I am no longer me, but a character that is facing something. I see pictures in my head of the universe that I believe I am living in. It’s how I’ve managed to get through most of life’s difficulties. Even as a kid, I was known for having this habit. Every Christmas and Birthday, guess what I asked for: books. Sure toys were nice and all, yet I outgrew them in a few years or stopped playing with them after a day. There was no in between.

Not only did books provide me with an escape, but they also gave me inspiration for my own stories. As a kid, it was notebooks filled with plots that held no sense and loopholes that extended beyond my current understanding. As a young adult, it is pages on Microsoft Word that are sparked because of a word, a sentence, a character, a universe. Books open up possibilities for me and not having been able to read I guess, gave me separation anxiety. Yes, a book did this. I’m pretty sure this is a medical condition of some sort. If any book lovers out there understand what I’m going through, feel free to leave a comment. We need to stick together.

With that being said, I’m going to return to keeping my sanity in check by reading some more.

Until next time,

xx Megan

One thought on “Jumping Back Through the Pages

Leave a Reply

