Literally Jumping For Joy

Wait for it.

Wait for it.

I GOT A SHORT STORY PUBLISHED.

It’s my third publication on a popular short fiction site known as Everyday Fiction. The fact I was able to snag this made me freak out. I ran into my parent’s room to tell them the news, nearly scaring them half to death while I screamed and rambled on about the achievement. I then proceeded to dance and jump around my house, shouting, “I’m so excited!” It was a very crazy day in my house you could say.

I wanted to post about this sooner, but I knew that I had to wait until the story was officially on the site. I was notified of it being accepted for publication about a month ago and since then, I’ve been counting the days until it was released and could be read by an audience that wasn’t just me and the family members who helped me edit it: my brother and sister in law.

This story was a shot in the dark. I submitted it not expecting to get anything out of it. The literary world is one filled with constant rejection and revision. Everyday Fiction however, decided to give me a chance. They sent me an email with feedback from multiple editors and I took their words into account and made the necessary changes.

It turned out the effort was rewarded because I accomplished my goal of getting one short story published this year.

The story that was picked up is called “Comatose” and it’s a flash fiction piece centered around two friends, one who is forced to make a decision that no friend ever wants to make. It’s a heavy piece and originally, I didn’t plan to write anything aside from the opening line in my journal. I figured I could turn it into a poem, but the line kept nagging at me. One evening I sat down and produced this story. I was surprised to say the least, though it turned out to be more than just a work in progress.

Now, without further ado, I present to you Comatose. I hope you guys enjoy it. Feel free to leave comments here or on the story itself.

CLICK HERE.

4 thoughts on “Literally Jumping For Joy

Leave a Reply

