Third Time’s the Charm, Right?

Greetings Bloggers!

I figure the best way to kick off this blog is with a small introduction. My name’s Megan and I’m a writer who’s trying to navigate through the social realm that accompanies being a writer. It’s kind of ironic given the fact that writing, at least for me is a very solitary process, but the effects of writing aren’t. A piece of work comes from the mind of the writer and is then exposed to the eyes of people who will critique it, edit it, and enjoy it (hopefully).

I gave a blog like this a shot in the past, twice actually, but it never stuck. I think that was mainly because I wasn’t as serious as I am now. My old blog had begun when I was just at the start of college and this blog continues nearly at the end of my college journey. I found out a lot of interesting things about myself and have been working on a handful of stories.

The point I’m trying to make here is writing stuck. I was the kid who carried notebooks on buses and trains. I was the kid who stayed up late filling these notebooks. I was the kid who refused to give up writing in notebooks because I liked the feel of a page and writing everything down. I couldn’t always read what I wrote, given my hand writing is equivalent to chicken scratch, but I did it. It’s probably a good thing that I finally gave up my stubborn way and moved to a keyboard. Who am I kidding? It’s definitely a good thing.

I always thought of writing to be a hobby, not an actual profession. I went through the process of figuring out what I wanted to do with my life, meanwhile it was right under the tip of my nose. How did I occupy my time? What was I always doing?

And now here I am, writing my first official blog post, a blog that I am determined to make stick.

Moving past the heavy stuff, I’m going to go through a few quick facts about myself that have influenced my writing or just me as a person.

  • I’m an avid fangirl. Show, movie, book, or video game: if there is a good plot line, strong character development, or a blossoming ship, you can bet I’ll be there internally freaking out.
  • I read and watch television shows a bit too obsessively. That book that someone is raving about? I’ll finish it in a sitting, maybe two. That television show I never watched that people are raving about? I’ll finish in a week.
  • I like writing pieces that are emotionally heavy, in an alternate universe, or shocking. These are the types of stories that most grip me and therefore, those are the stories that I like to write.
  • It took me a long time to come to terms with sending my work out there and having it read by others. It was like handing every person who read it a piece of myself.
  • Instrumentals are the only thing I can listen to while writing unless I’m super absorbed in a story and won’t even focus on lyrics. I tend to match an instrumental to emotion.

With all of those quirks about myself listed, I shall consider this post a wrap and hope that fellows readers will follow me on all my crazy thoughts that come with being a writer.

xx Megan

Leave a Reply

